Birdseye view of students at computers

Credentials overview

Different credential types to suit your goals

Uncertain about what type of program best suits your learning goals? ​Continuing Studies at UVic offers a variety of programs to help you acquire the skills and earn the credentials you need. Credentials can help you certify your knowledge in a topic, strengthen your resume and expand your professional opportunities.

We can help you propel your career forward through our diploma and certificate programs. If you want a faster approach to gain your required career skills, we also offer micro-credentials —short, flexible upskilling or reskilling opportunities. These include certificates of participation, certificates of completion, professional specialization certificates and professional development certificates.

Here is a breakdown of the various credentials offered through our professional programming. 

Credential type Credential description Credit or non-credit
Certificate of Participation Awarded after attending a course or grouping of courses that does not have any formalized assessment. Typically, participants use this type of education for professional development purposes and, in some cases, as evidence of participation for professional development units (PDUs) or continuing education credits to fulfill industry specific requirements. Non-credit
Certificate of Completion  Awarded for courses or programs of study that are not professional in nature, but do require formal assessment. Non-credit 
UNITAR-CIFAL certification
A UNITAR-CIFAL Certificate of Completion acknowledges courses or programs that have been approved by CIFAL Victoria and the United Nations Institute of Training and Research (UNITAR) based on alignment to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).
Credit or non-credit
Micro-certificate A micro-certificate is a short, focused, competency-based qualification that is aligned with industry, community and/or Indigenous community needs. The length of the program varies but is typically one to three courses or up to 120 hours.
Credit or non-credit 
Professional Specialization Certificate (PSC) A PSC is a profession-specific program for learners who already hold a bachelor’s degree and have at least two years of work-related experience. Typically four courses or a minimum of 150 hours of learning (6 credit units). Learning is assessed. Credit or non-credit 
Certificate A certificate is typically seven to 10 courses that leads to a specific set of program learning objectives (270–390 hours of instruction). Learning is assessed.  Credit or non-credit
Diploma  A diploma is 10 to 15 courses (390+ hours of instruction) that lead to a specific set of program learning objectives. Credit courses completed may be applied towards an undergraduate degree with approval as long as students meet current admission requirements. Learning is assessed.  Credit or non-credit

Discover what Continuing Studies can offer you:

Or browse all programs together.